Lyn Rambles: Snapshot #2 (HIT/Heroes of Incredible Tales, Orpheus Stone, I Love Hue, Dancing Line)

snapshot2.png

Look: I went ahead and spent a bit of time to make this nice visual! Anyway, here’s the lineup for this Snapshot:

HIT – A real-time action RPG published by Nexon
Orpheus Stone – A very cute and humorous resource-gathering and strategy game
I Love Hue – A puzzle game based on arranging rectangles to create a nice spectrum
Dancing Line – A music arcade game where you must tap to the beat and avoid obstacles

These are all free mobile games, by the way. 🙂

HIT (Heroes of Incredible Tales)

Screenshot_2017-04-06-12-52-08

Developer/Publisher: NATGames, Inc./Nexon
Platform(s): Android, iOS
Price: Free, with IAP
Discovery: Google Play Store
Playtime: Approx. 5 hours

• This game was made in the Unreal 4 Engine. It has a dual swordsman, a scythe-wielder…okay how can I NOT compare this to Vindictus. It really feels like the mobile version of it.
• Playing on my phone, the UI is very small and cluttered. There’s just so much information crammed into the screen at all times.
• That being said, the actual gameplay is pretty fun. I mean, I’ve played a bunch of games with the same concept, but HIT handles the combat really well. I love me some flashy skills. Animation is very well done.
• If there’s a story in this game I’ve completely missed it. -JK, it just takes an unusual way to present it.
• Unfortunately, this game reeks of P2W. Any resource you need, you can buy it. Or buy a chance to get it. I haven’t played the game enough to feel the pressure to shell out money, but it’s very off-putting just seeing all the options. Also, POP-UPs. Very annoying.

Overall, I feel really conflicted about this game. The actual battle is incredible, and very rewarding. I’ve played so many action RPG games on mobile but HIT really does it way better. I think it has something to do with the auto-dash to enemies. Nothing feels more satisfying than killing mobs, dashing to the next set, rinse, repeat. This is how hack-n-slash is supposed to feel! However, all of this amazing action feels bogged down imo by all the other RPG elements, clunky UI, and micro-transactions with a hefty dose of RNG tacked on. For now, I’m playing it sporadically but really don’t know how long I’ll keep it up.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Orpheus Story

Screenshot_20170406-234356

Developer/Publisher: Nikea Games
Platform(s): Android, iOS
Price: Free, with IAP
Discovery: Google Play Store
Playtime: Approx. 3 hours

• I had no expectations whatever when I downloaded this game – I thought there was going to be some sort of combat or something, lol.
• It really is just a resource-gathering type game. The artstyle is very cute and colorful, though.
• The only reason I keep playing is because of the story. It’s super interesting. At first, all these Greek names were a bit hard to follow along, but now I’m hooked. The cutscenes even give you dialogue options, and you can gain relationship points. There’s even a bit of a romance system going on!

So like…I was on board until I progressed far enough to get attacked and have my resources stolen T__T And it kept happening so my drive to play this game pretty much shot down to zero. Shame, the story is picking up too. But I am not a PvP-oriented person that much. I can’t really find a good reason to keep playing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I Love Hue

Screenshot_20170406-083355

Developer/Publisher: Zut!
Platform(s): Android, iOS
Price: Free, with IAP
Discovery: Google Play Store
Playtime: Approx. 5 hours

• Every now and then I’ll pick up a puzzle game, but rarely will I actually find one that I like. This is one that I’ve definitely been enjoying as of late.
• The title is a pun…that’s cute.
• Gameplay is very simple. You have a grid, and fixed pieces that act as guides, indicated by a black dot. The rest are shuffled and the goal is to arrange the pieces to make a nice gradient.
• …not recommended for the colorblind.
• Interesting how the first ten levels is the game as it should be – no costs, no ads. Then they hit ‘chya once you go from Beginner to Apprentice.

Verdict: Simple concept but challenging enough, very clean presentation. A great game for those times when you have a fill minutes to spare, like waiting in a line.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Dancing Line

Screenshot_20170406-234602

Developer/Publisher: BoomBit
Platform(s): Android, iOS
Price: Free, with IAP
Discovery: da boyfriend
Playtime: Approx. 30 minutes

• I love music games. But this honestly feels more like those Flappy Bird/Don’t Tap kind of games – oh look, it’s the same publisher!
• I really tried. But for some reason I am just SO BAD at this game, hah. Is that indicating how slow my reaction is…?
• It doesn’t feel fair at times. How the scenery just appears out of nowhere giving you little time to react. I think you might just clear through sheer brute force and memorization, since the level is fixed.
• How they make money is that re-tries are a currency. :p
• Both the visuals and the music for this game is very nice. From a development standpoint, though, it seems like a whole lot of work to create each level.

…Yeah, that’s about all I have to say for this game. Lol.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

