Lyn Rambles: Death and Diners

One of the things I love about playing video games are those crowning moments where you manage to pull off something incredible, either out of sheer luck or after many attempts.

So today, I’m going to share two of some of my favorite moments, starting with the first one from Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor. (Unfortunately I don’t have specific screenshots or videos showing either, so please enjoy somewhat-related pictures instead!)

20160405234148_1

Shadow of Mordor is an open world action-adventure game inspired by the world created by J. R. R. Tolkien, which many can recognize in popular series such as The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. The game is best known for it’s fluid combat and innovative Nemesis system, in which the enemies you face are more than just targets – they have personalities, likes, fears, and even remember previous encounters with the player.

I honestly don’t remember if it was an objective or some event I simply walked into, but there were five uruks kneeling down by a cliff edge about to be executed. So mischievous ol’ me snuck up behind all of them,  BACKSTABBED each one in quick succession, and then for added measure did a stab-kick maneuver sending the last uruk flying off the cliff. And of course, before anyone could notice, I was already running off laughing like a madman. Absolutely satisfying. I don’t record, but it was one of the few times I wish I did.

20160405234649_1

A game I like to play called “Piss Off as Many Enemies as Possible Without Dying”

Likewise, there was also another proud achievement I had in not-as-violent-but-equally-as-action-packed-ish game called Cook, Serve, Delicious! The best way for me to describe CSD would be that it’s a typing game, in that you serve customers’ orders by typing the corresponding key. For example, for a salad, there would be “G” for “greens” and so forth.

20160405233236_1.jpg

Seriously. So at the height of my restaurateur (I had to look this up) career, I was taking on an average of 50 orders a day and juggling 8 hungry patrons at once. It happened ever so rarely…but the perfect days where I would get EVERY single order right was definitely an accomplishment. I cannot imagine the number of keystrokes and how quickly I was tapping them – but something about this game was really addicting. (Probably something-something, “management.”)

20160405233500_1

I forced myself to learn pasta and soups as a challenge!

Anyway, so there you have it! Two of my personal highlights from two rather different experiences. But at the end of the day, they both gave me a similar feeling:

The sweet, sweet feeling of SUCCESS.

Leave a Reply

