On My Radar: Tree of Savior

big14.jpg

Tree of Savior

Developer/Publisher: IMC Games Co., Ltd.
Platform(s): PC
Price: Free to Play, with Founder’s Packs for early access
Discovery: YouTube Let’s Play
Release Date: April 28th, 2016 Pushed to May 10th; currently in Early Access

I cannot tell you how many hours I have put into Ragnarok Online, but it’s probably in the thousands. My mains were High Priest and Biochemist, and it claims the title of being my first ever F2P MMORPG.

One of biggest draws for RO was that you had 2D sprites in a 3D environment – an isometric world, to be exact. So when Ragnarok Online 2 was announced, I really had no desire to make the switch because the transition to full 3D was a bit too much in my opinion, not to mention the overall mass of disappointment that followed.

Along comes IMC Games Co., Ltd., the developer and publisher behind Tree of Savior, meant to be the true sequel to RO (what’s with me and true sequels lately?). Fun fact: IMC are the ones behind Granado Espada, which I’ve also played, and stands for Impress, Motivate, and Connect.

Anyway, the main draw of TOS, alongside nods to the same artstyle of RO, is the truly massive class system it touts – which, I guess, is also an expansion of RO’s class system. While there are four base archetypes to start off with, each archetype has 3 circles that unlock more skills as you progress, and then undergo up to 7 (or more) class advancements, each with their own circles for a total of 80 classes and hundreds of possible combinations.3014_M.gif

So the progression goes something like this, for example: Archer, Circle 1 > 2 > 3 –> Archer OR Ranger OR Quarrel Shooter, Circle 1 > 2 > 3, and so forth, until you reach the final advancement in which the Falconer or whatever class you choose could have completely different skillsets than the Falconer of another player. I used this class builder to give me a better visualization.

Oh, and did I mention that the artstyle is really, really amazing? ‘Cause here you go:

big9.jpg

Giltine, Goddess of Death

As for the actual graphics of the game, based on some videos and screenshots out there, Tree of Savior does hail back to that of RO but much more polished, which usually happens when there’s a nearly 15 year difference between games. Oh and there’s hats. Lots and lots of hats, just like in RO which I love. There’s even the same exact ones from RO, such as Angel Ears and the Baphomet Goat Horns…! Even better is that you have the ability to change your character’s outfits through costumes, which was not an option RO as you could only change the color scheme but were stuck with the same look. Customization is a always a plus in my book. Awesome.

Gameplay-wise, I cannot comment much as I’d like to save that for my First Impressions review when the game does come out and I’m able to play it for myself. I have seen videos and read up quite a bit on the game, however, so I have a general idea of what’s in store.

As for now, my biggest worry is really just how much TOS will have improved since RO aside from updated graphics. The overall style of the game puts itself in a niche market already, and is definitely not in the realm of most titles coming out on the market. In fact, I’d argue that the heyday of MMORPGs overall is long past its prime due to the general lack of innovation and number of “WoW clones” that typically plague this genre. Alongside nostalgia, will what Tree of Savior brings be enough to differentiate the game, and keep it alive in this day and age?

Hype Level: 5/10 – Keepin’ my eye on the game. It’s free-to-play so there’s no harm in checking it out when it does release to the general public.

Leave a Reply

